27 APRIL / 08 MAY


YouTube facebook twitter google plus pinterest

Jury's note:

“We would like to highlight the excellence of the selection of this year's Official Competition. It has been an enriching experience because of the variety of topics explored, and emotionally difficult due to the harsh realities portrayed. Each film would really have deserved a prize for its artistic quality, originality and courage.“


  • When Two Worlds Collide

    When Two Worlds Collide

    Jury's First Prize, consisting of 10,000 € and a trophy.
    "We have chosen this film because, from different points of view, in an eloquent and poetic way, Heidi Brandenburg and Matthew Orzel reconstruct the struggle for the defense of the Amazon of the Peruvian indigenous leader Alberto Pizango and his community. They put their own bodies and their lives on risk into this unequal and unjust struggle, which not only concerns to them but to all of us in an increasingly urgent way. When Two World Collide is a film that captivates, agitates and inspires from begining to end."

    Heidi Brandenburg, Mathew Orzel / 2016
    Audience vote 8.58
  • Those who Jump

    Les Sauteurs (Those who Jump)

    Jury's Second Prize, consisting of 5,000 € and a trophy.
    “We were wowed by how Moritz Siebert and Estephan Wagner make an effectively portrait of the drama of African migrants by the decision of giving the camera to one of them: Abou Bakar Sidibe. These intimate images, almost like a home movie style, is the very opposite of the dehumanized surveillance camera that monitors the border day and night and makes no distinction at all in those silhouettes, which seem only dark spots into the distance, leaving out the dreams and hopes of the humans behind those shadows.”

    Moritz Siebert, Estephan Wagner, Abou Bakar Sidibe / 2016
    Audience vote 8.75
  • The Land of the Enlightened

    The Land of the Enlightened

    Jury's Special Prize, consisting of a diploma.
    “Because of its originality and the absolute cinematographic mastery displayed by the director and cameraman Pieter-Jan de Pue, in his way of portraying the bleak and brutal life, rarely seen, of the Afghan children forced to survive in a land at war; in such a quasi-apocalyptic world.”

    Pieter-Jan De Pue / 2016
    Audience vote 8.07
  • Tempestad


    Special mention of the jury
    “The film director Tatiana Huezo achieves, in such a subtle and emotional way, to rescue testimonies which describe the profound injustice and corruption in Mexico. She puts a face to the stories of those innocent citizens that otherwise could have remained invisible.”

    Tatiana Huezo / 2016
    Audience vote 8.59


  • My Aleppo

    My Aleppo

    Jury's First Prize, consisting of 4,000 € and a trophy.
    “In a very devoted and curious way, Melissa Langer puts light on the details that weave a Syrian family that made the decision to flee the civil war. Step by step, a strong cinematographic language reveals the evolution of the caracters, the increase of tension and the pain to handle this dificult situation. My Aleppo is a film that seeks to understand from the very inside. We were emotionally touched by the captations that put us right into the situation as we could ourselves feel the despair, anger and helplessness of the family.”

    Melissa Langer / 2015
    Audience vote 6.65
  • Then Then Then

    Then Then Then

    Jury's Second Prize, consisting of 2,000 € and a trophy.
    "By the power of its plot, the strength of both its structure and language, its archive value and uniqueness, we decided to give the second prize of documentary short film in competition to Then Then Then"

    Daniel Schioler / 2015
    Audience vote 7.62
  • Bird Skin

    Pele de Pássaro (Bird Skin)

    Jury's Special Prize, consisting of a diploma.
    “Clara Peltier creates the atmosphere we need to feel the skin of the main character: a woman who struggles to survive working as a dancer in carnaval costume with a painful smile in her face. In a powerful and clever approach, Pele de Pássaro questions the role of black women in Brazil and show us how the folklore figure of a country can be a burden and a cage for part of our society.”

    Clara Peltier / 2015
    Audience vote 5.77
  • The bitter apple from the tree

    Der bittere Apfel vom Stamm (The bitter apple from the tree)

    Special mention of the jury.
    “Through the portrait of her mother, Anna kim draws in an extremely mastered way the caracteristics of the South Korean culture. We want to congratulate her for taking the risk of facing such intimate and delicate captations by finding the right angle and also the right distance. The tempo of her editing and the sensivity of her compositions made us dive into a very distinguished and poetic universe in which she expresses her most profound feelings in a reachable way.”

    Hana Kim / 2015
    Audience vote 4.77


  • The Other Kids

    The Other Kids

    MOVISTAR+ Award
    For showing how dreams may also become into a driving force for survivalism... even if they are football dreams ;-)

    Pablo de la Chica / 2015
  • The Craziest

    La mayor locura (The Craziest)

    Award for the best feature length spanish documentary
    "For the originality with which addresses the issue of memory; as well as the choice of characters, the ability to transmit the struggle, the resistance to loneliness and the passage of time. We also want to highlight the quality of the filming of this documentary, and the poetic and suggestive language used."

    Adolfo Dufour / 2015





    27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
See all


© 2016 DOCUMENTAMADRID   web: animo.es

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. More Information